Romain Virgo, Protoje, and More KILL IT at The Historic Ashland Armory – Review & Photos

Romain Virgo feeling the moment at the Historic Ashland Armory on 2/22/14

Romain Virgo feeling the moment at the Historic Ashland Armory on 2/22/14

Reggae Fans in Southern Oregon and beyond were treated to a special concert by Ruff I Productions at the Historic Ashland Armory a couple weeks back featuring some of today’s hottest Reggae Artists from Jamaica:

Protoje seh: Who Dem A Program???!!!

Protoje seh: Who Dem A Program???!!!

Romain Virgo & Ikronik headlined the bill, followed by Protoje & The Indiggnation, with Marko & The Escort Service opening things up pon di right note!

It’s a true joy for me when World Class Musicians come to my area. I live and breathe Reggae Music and I feel really lucky that I get to see Reggae Artists of this level. I hope the Southern Oregon Reggae Massive shares these feelings and continues to attend these events because the production companies and artists work very hard to make it all happen and without your continual support, things nah keep a gwan! Seen?

Now, getting back to the show:

I’ve known Marko for a good while now and it always makes me smile to see him light up the stage! Scottie One Drop & The Escort Service provided a sweet & solid musical experience, highlighting Marko‘s music catalog nicely. Things started to heat up as they worked the eyes and ears of the smiling crowd.

Rabbit & Marko Feelin' Irie!!!

Rabbit & Marko Feelin’ Irie!!!

Marko & the boys were still dropping chunes as I made my way backstage. I figured Protoje might be there by now and I wanted to chat before he went on. I got shots of Protoje & The Indiggnation KILLING IT at the 2013 Sierra Nevada World Music Festival and wanted to let them all know that I was really looking forward to their performance tonight.

As soon as it seemed like the moment was right, I popped my head in Protoje‘s dressing room door and introduced myself. The first thing he said to me was “I always see your photos on Facebook.” And I smiled big. REAL BIG!!! 🙂

We chatted for a minute before I asked Protoje if he would mind taking a photo with me and the Reggae Festival Guide. “Nice and easy. Nice and easy,” was his smiling reply as I ran out the door to get my brother from another mother, Evton B Indubious, to assist me with the shot.

Protoje with the 2013 Reggae Festival Guide

Protoje with the 2013 Reggae Festival Guide

Ended up getting a few good pics of all of us, and this one with Protoje holding the 2013 Reggae Festival Guide is totally IRIE! Protoje is a very humble, positive, and friendly man and his music is making big waves all over the Reggae World. Make no mistake as you mark my words:

Destined to be one of the greatest reggae legends of all time: Protoje & The Indiggnation

Five minutes after we left the dressing room, Protoje & The Indiggnation took the stage by storm with skillful musicianship and tight vocal abilities. Protoje and his band performed big tracks such as “Who Dem A Program”, “This Is Not A Marijuana Song”, and “Kingston Be Wise”.

About halfway through their set, the lighting guys decided to turn things up… which made me smile even brighter! Photographs and good lighting can be A LOT of fun, especially when it’s accompanied by beautiful Reggae Music. I danced the rest of the way through Protoje & The Indiggnation‘s set, trying to focus more on the healing and love that reggae music provides. It was fantastic…

Protoje filled the house with BIG VIBES in Ashland, Oregon, on 2/22/14

Protoje filled the house with BIG VIBES in Ashland, Oregon, on 2/22/14

Next up was Ikronik.

Kava Jah blessing up the Southern Oregon Reggae Massive

Kava Jah blessing up the Southern Oregon Reggae Massive

Ikronik was supporting Romain Virgo on this tour and were doing a few songs of their own before he came out. Having seen them previously keeping it down for others in the past, I was looking forward to their own original tunes and the powerful energy of their lead singer, Kava Jah.

Just as expected, Ikronik delivered. The sound was huge and the vibes were bright. Pumping and pumping and then the fiyah exploded: Romain Virgo a GWAN!!!

This was my first time catching Romain Virgo live & direct… and I was absolutely floored! Talk about energy! Talk about passion!! Talk about silky vocals!!! BOOM!!!! Romain had it all and every one in the room could feel it… especially the ladies! 😉

Romain Virgo KILLING IT at the Historic Ashland Armory on 2/22/14

Romain Virgo KILLING IT at the Historic Ashland Armory on 2/22/14

Watching Romain Virgo‘s performance was completely mesmerizing as the sounds laid down by Ikronik beat into my veins, forcing the powerful reggae vibes into my mind. In the heights, with a quickness to my step, I felt at ease. That’s when I  thought “This must be how they do it back in Jamaica… Big Energy that is Nice and Easy!!!”

After Romain Virgo & Ikronik‘s show was over, I headed backstage again. I didn’t get a chance to connect with Romain earlier and was hoping to do that now. I was pretty quick as I handed him my card. I told him that his performance was outstanding and that I just took some kick ass shots of him on stage. He seemed genuinely thankful for the words just as I was genuinely thankful for his performance. I told him to check my works, because I would have some images up on my website soon that would make him smile.

Southern Oregon Reggae Fans FullJoying Romain Virgo's Passionate Performance

Southern Oregon Reggae Fans FullJoying Romain Virgo’s Passionate Performance

And I hope they make you smile too…all of them! You can check out the best shots from the entire night HERE.

Big Thanks & Respect goes out to Ruff I Productions for having Rogue Agent Photo out to shoot the show. It was a positive night full of one love unity and I’m very thankful to have been part of it! More Thanks & Love goes out to all the sponsors, artists, volunteers, and concert goers that made this night one to remember!!

♥ BOOM ♥

Joe McLaren of Rogue Agent Photo & Protoje on 2/22/14 at the Historic Ashland Armory

Joe McLaren of Rogue Agent Photo & Protoje on 2/22/14 at the Historic Ashland Armory

Much Love, More Strength, & Massive Respect,

Joe McLaren

Rogue Agent Photo

Reggae Festival Guide

info@rogueagentphoto.com 

joe@reggaefestivalguide.com 

541-292-3233

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Rogue Agent

Spreading awareness to the masses in the form of emotional imagery, our hope is for the viewer to feel the power of the moment that took our breath away.

That is why we do what we do…so YOU can FEEL it!!!

Professional Photography for Live Performances, Portraits, Festivals, Weddings, Concerts, Portfolios, Events, and Everything Else You Can Dream Of.

Serving Northern California, Oregon, and Beyond…
Booking: Please Call 541-631-8774 or Send An Email To: info@rogueagentphoto.com and/or rogueagentphoto@gmail.com

This entry was posted in CONCERT REVIEWS, MUSIC NEWS, NEWS, PHOTO GALLERIES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Romain Virgo, Protoje, and More KILL IT at The Historic Ashland Armory – Review & Photos

  1. the pictures of romain virgo looks great.
    from his number one fan michelle malcolm

    • Rogue Agent says:

      Thank you for the kind words Michelle Malcolm! I’m sure I’ll get a chance to shoot Romain Virgo again someday, so definitely stay tuned to my website and my Facebook Page! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *